Environmental Services

The Murray County Environmental Services Department is located down the hall from the License Center in the Government Center Building.   Divisions withing the office are:  Ag and Solid Waste, Planning and Zoning and Water Resources.

Jon Bloemendaal, Ag and Solid Waste Administrator
2500 28th Street
Slayton, Minnesota 56172
Phone: (507) 836-1164
Fax: (507) 836-8904
Email: JBloemendaal@co.murray.mn.us

Jean Christoffels, Zoning/Environmental Administrator
2500 28th Street
Slayton, Minnesota 56172
Phone: (507) 836-1166
Fax: (507) 836-8904
Email:  jchristoffels@co.murray.mn.us

Laurie Hill, Environmental Services Office Secretary
2500 28th Street
Slayton, Minnesota 56172
Phone: (507) 836-1167
Fax: (507) 836-8904
Email: lhill@co.murray.mn.us

Environmental Services develops programs to protect and clean up the environment, protect ground water, and establish management of solid waste in Murray County.

The Murray County Environmental Services Department was established to implement legislative mandates for County environmental programs, carry out the environmental policies of the Murray County Board of Commissioners, and provide information and assistance regarding environmental issues to the County Board and citizens.

Through contracts with local recyclers, Environmental Services offers its citizens a comprehensive recycling program though curbside and drop-box collection services throughout the county. Special programs are offered and various times for the collection of household hazardous waste, fluorescent bulbs, plastic pesticide containers and agricultural waste pesticides.

Useful Weblinks:
Minnesota Pollution Control
University of Minnesota Extension
Minnesota Department of Agriculture
Minnesota Department of Natural Resources – Public Waters
Emerald Ash Borer
Minnesota Board of Water and Soil Resources
Minnesota Department of Natural Resources (DNR)
Air Quality Index
Recycle Minnesota
Recycle More Minnesota
Rethink Recycling