Public Notice

The Murray County Planning Commission will hold a public hearing on Thursday, September 21, 2017, commencing at 7:30 pm, in the County Commissioner’s Meeting Room, Murray County Government Center, Slayton, MN, to take public comment and act on the following requests in the order listed below.

All interested parties are invited to attend.

If you are unable to attend, any comments or questions may be submitted in writing by Thursday, September 14, 2017, to the Murray County Environmental Services Office – PO Box 57, Slayton, MN 56172, or via email to

Applicant: Edgewater Bay Campground
Property Location: Section 2, Mason Township, Murray County
Application: To expand an existing campground by more than six (6) sites within the Shoreland and Agriculture Districts.
Reason for Public Hearing: Jeff Barstad, on behalf of Edgewater Bay Campground, made application for a conditional use permit pursuant to Murray County Zoning Ordinance, Section 7, Subdivision 3, Subpart 18. The site is currently permitted for 74 campsites and the plan is to add an additional 49 sites; after construction and expansion, the total number of sites will be 123.

Applicant: Murray County
Application: To adopt an ordinance for regulating riparian buffers in Murray County.
Summary: The Murray County Buffer Ordinance is proposed for adoption in order to meet the requirements of MN Statutes §103B.101, Subd. 12a and MN Statutes §103E.48. The Buffer Ordinance identifies the width of buffer areas required on public waters and on public ditches as shown on the buffer protection map, describes how to measure the buffer width, explains the uses allowed within the buffer area, allowed exemptions to the buffer requirements, alternative buffer practices, and how the County will handle complaints, noncompliance issues and enforcement.
Reason for Public Hearing: This constitutes a notice of an intention to enact an ordinance for regulating Riparian Buffers in Murray County. A complete copy of the proposed ordinance is available for review in the Murray County Auditor’s Office, The Murray County Environmental Services Office, or by clicking HERE. A copy will also be available with all Murray County Township and City Clerks.