2500 28th Street - PO Box 57 - Slayton, MN 56172

Parks and Recreation Advisory Commission Information

Parks and Recreation Commission

The mission of the Murray County Parks and Recreation Advisory Commission is to advise the Murray County Board of Commissioners on the best ways to create, sustain and preserve excellent parks, trails, and open spaces in order to enrich lives of Murray County residents and visitors by providing high quality recreation and education opportunities in harmony with natural resource preservation and stewardship.


The meetings typically take place at 5:30 p.m. on the third Thursday of every other month in Conference Room B of the Murray County Government Center or at one of the Park Facilities depending on specific projects.  If you wish to know about a specific meeting or to have an item placed on the agenda for discussion, please contact Jason Kircher at  507-215-2344.

Parks and Recreation Commission Members
Representing Name Term Expires Phone 
Murray County Parks Justin Hoffmann, Parks Director N/A 507-227-3925
District 1 Jon Hoyme 2026  
District 2 LeRoy Reese 2025 507-760-1630
District 3 Rae Ann Storm 2026 507-421-0762
District 4 Terry Giesen    
District 5 Mark Bartosh 2027 507-360-9024
Commissioner Dave Thiner N/A 507-360-1199
Commissioner Molly Malone N/A 507-227-9960


Parks and Recreation Commission Ex-Officio Members
Name Phone
Jason Kirchner
Economic Development Board President
Jean Christoffels
Zoning/Environmental Administrator



  • Click HERE for a copy of the Parks and Recreation Commission Bylaws.

Meeting Minutes

  • Click HERE for the minutes from the Parks and Recreation Commission

Capital Improvement Plan

  • Click HERE to review a copy of the short- and long-term plans (5 years and 10 years)

Ordinance and Rules

Aeration Maps

The following lakes in Murray County are aerated.   The map indicated the approximate location on the lake where the aerators are in operation and are marked with THIN ICE signs.